Holy See Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 96

The Holy See, the jurisdiction of the pope, has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 96th governmental entity (including the European Union) to ratify the global agreement to cut HFC emissions.

The Holy See’s ratification was received by the United Nations on June 17. It becomes only the fifth government to ratify the Kigali Amendment in 2020, with Mozambique having ratified on January 16, Lebanon on February 5, North Macedonia on March 12, and Bangladesh on June 8.

The Holy See, a sovereign entity, is headquartered in, and exercises exclusive dominion over, the independent Vatican City State enclave in Rome, Italy.

“In ratifying the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer, the Holy See desires to encourage the entire international community to be resolute in promoting authentic cooperation between politics, science, economics, and civil society,” said a declarationon the United Nations Treaty Collection website.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 198 government entities (including the EU) on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

Fully implemented, the amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.