Angola Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 111

The Republic of Angola has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 110th country, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

The country’s acceptance came into effect on November 16, 2020, according to the United Nation’s website.

Angola follows fellow southern African nation Botswana, which ratified on September 19.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 197 countries (plus the EU) on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

As part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, Angola is required to freeze HFC production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045.

Fully implemented, the Kigali Amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.

WP Popup