Somalia Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 91

Somalia in East Africa has ratified the Kigali Amendment, effective as of November 27, 2019, according to the latest update on the UN Treaty Collection website, becoming the 90th country plus the European Union (EU) to ratify this agreement to phase down HFC refrigerants. 

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 197 countries (plus the EU) on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

Somalia is part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, which are required to freeze production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045. Somalia becomes the 24th of 54 African nations to ratify.

Fully implemented, the amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

To see a list of all countries that have ratified the agreement, click here.