Asia Pacific

Kyrgyzstan Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 102

The Central Asian country of Kyrgyzstan has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 101th country, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

The country’s ratification came into effect on September 8, 2020, according to the United Nation’s website.

Kyrgyzstan becomes the second Central Asian country in a week to ratify, following neighboring Turkmenistan, which ratified in August 31.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 198 government entities (including the EU) on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

As part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, Kyrgyzstan is required to freeze HFC production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045.

Fully implemented, the amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.

WP Popup