Asia Pacific

Turkmenistan Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 101

Turkmenistan has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 100th country, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

The country’s ratification came into effect on August 31, 2020, according to the United Nation’s website.

The Central Asian country is the 10th country to ratify in 2020, with the latest being Romania on July 1, and Liberia on July 12.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 198 government entities (including the EU) on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

As part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, Turkmenistan is required to freeze HFC production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045.

Fully implemented, the amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.