Burundi Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 116

The East-African nation of Burundi has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 115th country, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

Burundi’s ratification went into effect on March 26, according to the United Nations website. Located just to the south of Rwanda (whose capital is Kigali). Burundi is the fourth country to ratify Kigali this year, following Iceland, Colombia and Zambia.  

As part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, Burundi is required to freeze HFC production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045.

Fully implemented, the Kigali Amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 197 countries (plus the EU) in October 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.