Liechtenstein Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 103

The Principality of Liechtenstein has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 102nd country, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

Liechtenstein’s ratification came into effect on September 16, 2020, according to the United Nation’s website.

As a developed nation, Liechtenstein is obligated to cut production and use of HFCs  by 40% in 2024, compared to the average between 2011 and 2013, leading up to an 85% cut by 2036.

The small European country, located between Switzerland and Austria, is the fourth European nation to ratify in 2020, with North Macedonia ratifying in March, the Holy See in June, and Romania on July 1.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 198 government entities (including the EU) on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

Fully implemented, the amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.