Other Regions

Bolivia Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 107

The Plurinational State of Bolivia has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 106th country, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

The South American country’s ratification came into effect on October 9, 2020, according to the United Nation’s website.

Nicaragua is the seventh country to ratify in the less than two months, following Turkmenistan (August 31), Kyrgyzstan (September 8), Liechtenstein (September 16), Botswana (September 19), Nicaragua (September 30), and Russia (October 3).

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 197 countries (plus the EU) on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

As part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, Bolivia is required to freeze HFC production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045.

Fully implemented, the Kigali Amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.