Other Regions

Nicaragua Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Bringing Ratifications to 105

The Republic of Nicaragua has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 104th country, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

The Central American country’s ratification came into effect on September 30, 2020, according to the United Nation’s website.

Nicaragua is the fifth country in the last month to ratify, following Turkmenistan (August 31), Kyrgyzstan (September 8), Liechtenstein (September 16), and Botswana (September 19).

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted by 197 countries (plus the EU) on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. Its goal is to achieve at least an 80% reduction in HFC consumption by 2047.

As part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, Nicaragua is required to freeze HFC production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045.

Fully implemented, the Kigali Amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.